Research, Dev, Share

Online Programming and Software Development Competitions

Posted in Algorithm, Competition, Learning, Software Development by Khang Vo on March 21, 2010
In my university, it was hard to find chances to go for programming and software competitions (like ACM and Imagine Cup), part of the problem is my fault as well. So, I usually find and join online competitions. Anyway, it is not the main ideas of this post. I want to introduce programming competitions that other people can find fun.

For me, competitions are chances to be fun, to boost skills and to communicate with other people. Fun may be the most important thing, because if it is not fun, interesting and challenging, there is no reason to do it.

1. TopCoder : a lot of kinds of competitions here. This is my favourite one.

A short competition lasts about 1 hour to compete with other people in a 3-problem test with easy, normal and difficult level. You can also do code review, challenge others’ solutions by your own test cases. I love this idea because now, your solution is both validated as well as verified by other people.

It is fun and realistic for software developer. You can even earn money. The only problem is that time to compete is really short, about 2 or 3 days and require in-depth knowledge about J2EE and .NET. I did not have any time to try out with this competition

This is a NP-complete problem competition. You can only find the way to make it better, find the most optimal solution. There are many kinds of problems here: range from encryption, game strategy and image analysis. I love game strategy most. The drawback is you have to spend a lot of time but I think that’s worth and give you a lot of fun

Bug Race will be good for tester, joining, finding bugs. Studio is good for designers. That’s all I know because I never tried this


2. Sphere Online Judge (SPOJ): Pure-algorithm competitions

I think this site is good for beginner and for people who wants to boost algorithms skills and knowledge.  If you are an algorithm lover, this site will be fun; otherwise, it seems quite boring when discussion and sharing ideas are quite limited. People compete with each other to try to get a little bit faster in time to be in the top. That is the disadvantage of this site, people spend too much time for a little performance improve, which is usually not a good practice for a software developer to do so.


An algorithm competition, challenging. I tried only once in last year and then this year, I think that I am still not good enough for that. It is a 3-people team competition by solving really tough algorithm problems in 5 hours. If you win, you can go to compete onsite with a wide range of topics: Information Theory, AI, Game Theory, Networking…

4. RoboCode (I think in www.diendantinhoc.org somebody is also interested in)
I am currently doing research and trying with this one for the purpose of RMITC club. RMIT students will try to learn by doing in this challenge. I hope we can learn in many different technologies: Event-Driven, Multi-threading, Agent-Oriented, Game Strategy, Software Design… See the demo below.

For me, that game looks like another agent game that RMIT Melbourne teaches for the course Agent-Oriented Programming and Design

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amit Shamra said, on December 12, 2010 at 12:06 am

    pls tell me abiut competitions where u can earn money


Leave a Reply

